Archive for January, 2009
Scamming 2.0 ??
by afotey on Jan.10, 2009, under Security
Have these Internet Fraudsters “upped” their game? I got an interesting e-mail from “western Union” the Caption was
Western Union: Your Account is limited. I was surprisedĀ to get such an e-mail since i don’t have any account with them. So i opened the e-mail out of curiosity. Here is a screenshot of the the inbox.
I noticed something unique. Normally when you get such e-mails, one of the quickest ways to verify whether or not it’s genuine you can is by checking out the ‘from’ part of the e-mail address, and then you check the domain pat of the address and see wether or not it’s a hoax.
If the domain name isn’t authentic then you’re been tricked But in this case i noticed, that the “from” e-mail address had the correct domain name ie (westernunion.com). So i was starting to think, .. hmm maybe this e-mail
is authentic
There was a link in the e-mail where which i was expected to click and then it would send me to the “western union“website, so i could verify my credit card details and enter my cvv
I placed my mouse on the link to see the URL i was been directed to . It was then i realised that the link wasn’t going anywhere near the Western Union Server
Out of cursiosity i clicked the hyperlink and my trusty firefox (The “BESTEST”) browser in the world showed me this page.
I don’t know if the other browsers (Opera, Safari, Internet Explorer etc) show the same page.(just realised chrome warns you of a phishing alert)
So i just want to advice you all that be extra cautious, The Scammers are upgrading themselves and you
could easily become one of their victims!!!
Remember Stay Secure, Stay Open Source


