Scamming 2.0 ??
by afotey on Jan.10, 2009, under Security
Have these Internet Fraudsters “upped” their game? I got an interesting e-mail from “western Union” the Caption was
Western Union: Your Account is limited. I was surprisedĀ to get such an e-mail since i don’t have any account with them. So i opened the e-mail out of curiosity. Here is a screenshot of the the inbox.
I noticed something unique. Normally when you get such e-mails, one of the quickest ways to verify whether or not it’s genuine you can is by checking out the ‘from’ part of the e-mail address, and then you check the domain pat of the address and see wether or not it’s a hoax.
If the domain name isn’t authentic then you’re been tricked But in this case i noticed, that the “from” e-mail address had the correct domain name ie (westernunion.com). So i was starting to think, .. hmm maybe this e-mail
is authentic
There was a link in the e-mail where which i was expected to click and then it would send me to the “western union“website, so i could verify my credit card details and enter my cvv
I placed my mouse on the link to see the URL i was been directed to . It was then i realised that the link wasn’t going anywhere near the Western Union Server
Out of cursiosity i clicked the hyperlink and my trusty firefox (The “BESTEST”) browser in the world showed me this page.
I don’t know if the other browsers (Opera, Safari, Internet Explorer etc) show the same page.(just realised chrome warns you of a phishing alert)
So i just want to advice you all that be extra cautious, The Scammers are upgrading themselves and you
could easily become one of their victims!!!
Remember Stay Secure, Stay Open Source



January 7th, 2010 on 15:25
Hi Ben,
Your site looks improved with WP.
Good Work, pls put something on the home page as well